Event info

The Riot Ensemble performs a world premiere of a 70-minute work that takes place entirely in darkness. 10 instruments - including a de-tuned grand piano - slowly tune a series of chords and then break out into various musical games, always returning to moments of deep listening and stasis.


The Riot Ensemble

Andrew Connington, Trombone
Ausias Garrigos, Bass Clarinet
Claudia Maria Racovicean, Piano
Kate Walter, Flute
Louise McMonagle, Cello
Marianne Schofield, Double Bass
Pétur Jónasson, Guitar
Sam Wilson, Percussion
Sarah Saviet, Violin
Stephen Upshaw, Viola

Conductor: Aaron Holloway-Nahum


Georg Friedrich Haas
Solstices (2019) 70

After the concert there will be Q/A with Georg Friedrich Haas.


This concert is supported by Arts Council England and Opus 2 International.