Event info

Both pieces in this concert are based on miniatures composed by Haukur and Kolbeinn for Kúbus in 2015. While Musik der Unzeitlichkeit II goes to extremes between musical density and timelessness the music in Unravelled develops from a frozen state towards a more flowing one but debris from the old miniature pops up every now and then. 


Grímur Helgason, clarinet
Guðrún Dalía Salómonsdóttir, piano
Ingrid Karlsdóttir, violin
Júlía Mogensen, cello
Melkorka Ólafsdóttir, flute 


Haukur Tómasson
Unravelled, for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano (2018) 10

Kolbeinn Bjarnason
Musik der Unzeitlichkeit II, for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano (2018) 30


Kúbus Ensemble was founded in 2013 and has participated in various musical projects including performance of Quatour pour la Fin de Temps by Olivier Messiaen, recordings of the music of Karl O. Runólfsson in new arrangements of Hjörtur Ingvi Jóhannsson and a concert on Dark Music Days where the group gave premiere to 21 new miniatures as a homage to Atli Heimir Sveinsson’s set of miniature 21 músíkmínúta for solo flute.