Event info

Tvístrun or Dispersion is a new concert project from the Icelandic faction of Ung Nordisk Musik in cooperation with Elja Chamber Orchestra. The concert presents pieces by the 7 composers who will travel to the UNM festival in Bergen at the end of August as well as pieces by two other composers who were chosen during the application process at the end of last year.


The title has a multilayered meaning. The project is a dispersion or a branch of the main Ung Nordisk Festival, held in Reykjavík one year ago. Additionally, the composers and performers participating are dispersed among different genres and different locations all over Europe and North-America. Lastly we want to engage in a discourse regarding the differentiation of composers and performers within the contemporary music world.


Prior to the concert, there will be a panel discussion about the organization. The discussion will address the nature of UNM as an environment for young musicians and contemplate the opportunities resulted in collaborations between composers and performers. Additional discussions will regard the accessibility of music creation and whether UNM’s approach and work ethic is a reliable platform for contemporary and experimental music in the year 2018. The panel will start the same day at 3pm in the Tjarnarbíó foyer.


Ung Nordisk Musik (UNM) is an annual music festival where 35 nordic composers are chosen every year to participate, hosted in rotation by the five partaking countries. Each faction assembles a jury who select seven works by as many composers to participate. Iceland has been a contributing country since 1974.



Elja is a newly formed chamber orchestra comprising young classical musicians from Iceland. Most of the players are already successful as soloists, chamber musicians, orchestra players and conductors. The chamber orchestra was established in 2017 and introduced themselves to the Icelandic music scene in December 2017, receiving great responses.



The concert programme includes the following pieces:


Bára Gísladóttir – Devotcha watch her garbles for bass flute, bass clarinet, harp and percussion

Fjóla Evans – Eroding for alto flute, bass clarinet, piano, vibraphone, violin and cello

Gísli Magnússon – Aurora fyrir flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano (premiere)

Gunnlaugur Björnsson – Suite for electric guitar, string quartet, percussion, electronics and visuals

Gylfi Gudjohnsen – Gítarkvintett for guitar, two violins, viola and cello

Inga Magnes Weisshappel – PTSD for piano, flute, string quintet, choir, electronics and visuals

Ingibjörg Friðriksdóttir – Hulduorka for electronics

Katrín Helga Ólafsdóttir – The Color Symphony for 3 violins, viola, cello, double bass, bass flute, bass clarinet, vibraphone and piano

Örnólfur Eldon – Kaprísa - fyrir rælni for violin and environment


Ticket prices: 3300 / 2300 ISK

Elja: Brot úr minni on August 10th: [hlekkur]

Concert pass for Elja‘s concert Brot úr minni and Tvístrun: 4900 ISK [hlekkur]