Event info

Elja is a newly formed chamber orchestra comprising young classical musicians from Iceland. Most of the players are already successful as soloists, chamber musicians, orchestra players and conductors. The chamber orchestra was established in 2017 and introduced themselves to the Icelandic music scene in December 2017, receiving great responses.

Many of Elja’s members studied at the Reykjavik College of Music and the Iceland Academy of the Arts before continuing their musical studies abroad. The goal of the ensemble is to bring the audience a simultaneously energetic, lively, and personal performance of repertoire spanning every genre and era with which classical musicians engage.


On this concert Elja will present a various program, including a premiere of a piece by Halldór Eldjárn, music by the singer JFDR, Schönberg's Chamber Symphony no. 1 and Haydn's "Farewell" Symphony.


Halldór Eldjárn: Brot úr minni / Voice Memos

Arnold Schönberg: Chamber Symphony no. 1 op. 9

Jófríður Ákadóttir: JFDR

Joseph Haydn: "Farewell" Symphony



Tickets: 2900 / 2100 ISK

Elja x UNM: Tvístrun August 11th: [hlekkur]

Concert pass for Brot úr minni and Tvístrun: 4900 ISK [hlekkur]