Event info

Sölvi Kolbeinsson Quartet will perform at the Nordic House on the 22nd of August. Entrance is 2000 kr. Tickets are also available at the Reception of the Nordic House. Visit www.nordichouse.is for more information.

Sölvi Kolbeinsson is a young musician based in Berlin where he studies at the Jazz Institute Berlin. His quartet is a new international collaboration uniting musicians from the jazz scenes of Iceland and Berlin.

The quartet consists of:

Sölvi Kolbeinsson (Iceland) – saxophone
Mark Pringle (England) – piano
Felix Henkelhausen (Germany) – bass
Magnús Trygvason Elíassen (Iceland) – drums

Photo: Álfheiður Erla, http://www.alfheidurerla.com

Sölvi met the English pianist Mark Pringle and the German bassist Felix Henkelhausen at Jazz-Institut Berlin in 2015. Since then, the musicians have worked together with different projects. Sölvi and Felix are both members of the band Volcano Bjorn which has played many concerts in Germany as well as performed at the Reykjavík Jazz Festival in 2017. Sölvi and Mark have played as a duo, collaborated with Mark Pringle Quintet and Felix Henkelhausen Quintet in Berlin and performed in Finland with Hayden Prosser’s quartet, Tether. Sölvi and Magnús met in their home country, Iceland, where they started performing as a duo in 2015. Since then, they have played many concerts together, including shows in Mengi.

The Quartet will play their favourite jazz standards, the pieces that are an important part of every jazz musician’s repertoire. The audience will have a chance to enjoy compositions by Duke Ellington, Thelonious Monk, Miles Davis and others, performed skillfully and newly by Sölvi Kolbeinsson Quartet.