Event info
Calder String Quartet: Chamber concert

8. Oct » 17:00 Norðurljós | Harpa


Benjamin Jacobson violin
Andrew Bulbrook violin
Jonathan Moerschel viola
Eric Byers cello


Franz Schubert String Quartet in d minor, Death and the Maiden
Esa-Pekka Salonen Homunculus
Daníel Bjarnason Stillshot
Andrew Norman Stop Motion

One of the United States’ foremost string quartets, the Calder Quartet from Los Angeles won the coveted Avery Fisher Prize in 2014. The programme at this concert in Norðurljós Hall will feature works by two composers who reside in Los Angeles: world-renowned orchestral conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen and American composer Andrew Norman, who has garnered substantial attention in recent years. He was named Musical America’s 2017 Composer of the Year and is the recipient of the coveted Grawemeyer Award for Musical Composition. Also on the programme is a very well-received recent work written by Daníel Bjarnason for the Calder Quartet.

This concert is part of Iceland Symphony's LA/Reykjavík-Festival, 3rd - 12th of November, where music from LA is at the center of the stage.