Event info

Samuel Barber Violin Concerto
Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony no. 9

Kornilios Michailidis

Valeriy Sokolov

The Ukranian virtuoso Valeriy Sokolov is among the foremost violinists of his generation. He has performed with many of the world's leading orchestras and now appears for the first time in Iceland. He will play Samuel Barber's Violin Concerto, a dazzling display of lyricism and virtuosity, written around the same time as the composer´s most beloved piece, the Adagio for Strings.  

Shostakovich's Ninth Symphony was a surprise for many at its premiere in 1945, only a few months after the end of the Second World War. Soviet officials expected a massive and euphoric “victory symphony” from the country's leading symphonist, but instead Shostakovich provided a light and often comic work in a neoclassical vein. Officials voiced their displeasure but the work proved to be an audience favourite and has maintained its status as one of Shostakovich's most enjoyable symphonies. Its charming blend of humour and lyricism, along with a sharp satirical edge, leaves no listener unmoved.  

Kornilios Michailidis, conductor-in-residence at Iceland Symphony Orchestra, conducts the concert on a short notice in place of Eva Ollikainen, chief conductor, in her absence.

Before the concert was postponed, Frontispiece by Unsuk Chin and Symphony no. 10 by Shostakovich were part of the concert‘s program. Symphony no. 9 by Shostakovich will be performed instead.