Event info

"Hagi" - Release concert at Reykjavík Jazz 2021

Bassist Þorgrímur Toggi Jónsson presents a new album, Hagi, recorded with his newly formed quartet. Thoghtful and melodic compositions are at the forefront showcasing the strenght of the band. Toggi has received numerous awards and nominations for his music and performances in recent years. His first solo record, Constant Movement, received the Icelandic Music Awards as the jazz album of the year.

The quartet has some of the best musicians of today‘s Icelandic music scene and includes Rögnvaldur Borgþórsson on guitar, Magnús Trygvason Elíassen on drums and Tómas Jónsson on piano.

Þorgrímur Jónsson : double bass / electric bass
Rögnvaldur Borgþórsson : guitar
Magnús Trygvason Eliassen : drums
Tómas Jónsson : piano / keyboards


Rósa Guðrún & Strokkvartettinn Siggi

Rósa Guðrún Sveinsdóttir, saxophonist and singer/songwriter, released her debut album in 2014 called Strengur Stranda. The album is a collaboration with her father, Sveinn Kristinsson, who wrote the lyrics. The music and lyrics are influenced by nature and the peaceful ambiance in the remote West fjords Iceland where her family has a second home. Rósa wrote many of the songs with the arrangements for string quartett in mind and has now composed a new series of songs.

Rósa has joined forces with Siggi String Quartet, comprised of violinists Una Sveinbjarnardóttir and Helga Þóra Björgvinsdóttir, viola player Þórunn Ósk Marinósdóttir and cellist Sigurður Bjarki Gunnarsson. They are all instrumentalists in the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and have worked together as a quartet since 2012. They won the Icelandic Music Award 2018 and were nominated as the performer of the year at the Icelandic Music Awards 2019. Along side Rósa and the string quartet will be guitarist Daníel Helgason, Matthías M.D. Hemstock percussionist, and Birgir Steinn Theodórsson bassist.

Rósa Guðrún Sveinsdóttir : voice / saxophone
Daníel Helgason : guitar
Birgir Steinn Theodórsson : bass
Matthías M.D. Hemstock : drums / percussion
Una Sveinbjarnardóttir : violin
Helga Þóra Björgvinsdóttir : violin
Þórunn Ósk Marinósdóttir : viola
Sigurður Bjarki Gunnarsson : cello